Jane Keskimaki

My career in education began over 30 years ago at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire when I was lucky enough to work in an evening English language learners class for the surging population of Hmong refugees. After leading just a few classes, I was hooked. The dedication and energy of the students made teaching a joy. During the subsequent summers I also taught at the UWEC summer intensive English program for students from around the world.

After earning my degree in education, I taught ELL in Appleton, Wisconsin, for several years at the high school, middle school, and elementary school levels. In 1989 when my husband and I moved to Seattle, I established a tutoring business serving English learners throughout the Bellevue area. I have worked with students aged 4 to 75, from many countries including Japan, China, and Russia. I have also served as a volunteer teacher in the Eastside Literacy (now part of Hopelink) program. My students have gone on to have successful lives and careers both here and abroad.

In 2000 and 2002, my children were born and started me on a new path. Along the way, I’ve learned about Sensory Processing Disorder, dyspraxia, dysgraphia, ADHD, convergence and tracking (vision) issues, and dyslexia. These diagnoses can be overwhelming and I remember desperately searching for help and waiting for availability from professionals. After finding the right fit, for several years, we were busy with Occupational Therapy, Vision Therapy, and other appointments.

Student working to solve problem.My parenthood experiences led me to a natural fit with the Wired for Reading program for students with dyslexia. Since starting with Wired, I have been able to leverage my own experiences with my children to the benefit of my students while tailoring the program to individual needs. It is such a pleasure to share this effective curriculum with families. I know how important finding the right match for a child is. Maybe I am that person for you.

My dog Arlo.When not tutoring, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two children, ages 18 and 15. My two cats, Fanta and Neko, and my stubborn dog, Arlo, keep me entertained. My interests include Mariners baseball, midcentury modern design, ancestry research, independent films, and travel.

Comments are closed.